

Mike Rice Memorial 10



Promoted by Okehampton Cycle Club

Open Scratch 10 mile Time Trial

On Saturday 6th July 2024 at 6:00pm

Course S40/10

Start Sheet

This event is promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations.

Headquarters - Sourton Village Hall, Sourton, EX20 4HN

Event Secretary: Ian Lakey

Moorquest House

Bow Crediton EX17 6EN

Mobile: 07977 316775

HQ Directions: Sourton Parish Hall. Located on the A386, approximately 1 mile south of the Sourton

Junction of the A30. The Village Hall is on the East side of the road immediately

opposite the Highwayman Inn. SX535903

The village hall has limited parking. Once numbers are collected it is suggested that riders may want to use the free parking that is available at the 'Picnic Area' at Sourton

Services just to the north of the A30 junction.

To the Start: From the village hall, proceed North along the A386 until just before the bridge

carrying the A30 over the A386. Turn left onto the 'Old A30'. Proceed for approximately 400m before turning right onto the A30. Proceed down the hill for approximately 2.3 miles. The start is in the first lay-by the rider reaches as the road

levels off.

Timekeepers: Ian Whitear, Mid Devon CC

Ian Lakey, Okehampton CC

Mike Rice - Okehampton Cycle Club

Welcome to the Mike Rice Memorial Time Trial

Mike came to cycling quite late in life, having bought bikes for his children, he and Jacki his wife also got bikes which coincided with the formation of OKCC back in 1999.

So, with that, it was the start of going on club rides each week and getting some cycle legs, along with purchasing better bikes along the way!!

From there, Mike progressed to having a go at time trialling and that led on to doing some triathlons. On behalf of OKCC, Mike organised several Open TTs and helped marshal events, especially OKCC's own club TTs where he waved the flag and shouted encouragement for many years on the turnaround corner.

Mike was club treasurer for OKCC and an active committee member for many years.

Scratch Prize Awards:

Time Trial Bikes

Men 1st £15 2nd £10

Ladies 1st £15

Road Bikes

Men 1st £15

Veterans on Standard Prize Awards:

On Standard 1st £15 2nd £10

Course Description S40/10

Start on the A30 approximately 2.1 miles to the West of Sourton Junction (4.7 miles West of Okehampton) at the west end of the public lay-by, at a point level with the solar panel mast marked TME5023 (GR SX504908). Join A30 and proceed West to Stowford Cross and filter left into slip road signposted Broadwoodwidger. NB this slip road is for TWO WAY traffic, so keep left of centre line.

With care, turn right at top of slip road and proceed over bridge crossing the dual carriageway, taking first left into the slip road to rejoin the A30 Eastbound.

Extreme care is needed when entering the carriageway as there is NO filtering lane. Riders are advised to approach slowly, look right for traffic and keep to the nearside white line.

Continue on the A30 Eastwards towards Sourton Junction.

Finish on the carriageway at a point level with the fourth bollard from the west end of the public lay-by situated before the first overbridge from the turn (GR SX478902).

NUMBERS WILL BE AT THE HEADQUARTERS

RIDERS MUST SIGN ON AT THE HQ AND SIGN OFF AFTER RIDING

Protective Helmets – Regulation 15

All competitors must wear a properly affixed helmet which must be of hard/soft shell construction. Helmets should conform to a recognised Standard such as SNELL B95, ANSI Z90.4, AUS/NZS 2063:96, DIN 33-954, CPSC or EN 1078. It is the responsibility of the rider to:

- (a) Select a helmet that offers protection against head injury and does not restrict the rider's vision or hearing.
- (b) Ensure that the helmet is properly fitted, is undamaged and in good condition.

Competitor's Machine – Regulation 14

- (j) No competitor shall be permitted to start either a Type A or Type B event unless such competitor has affixed to the rear of their machine a working rear red light, either flashing or constant, that is illuminated and in a position that is clearly visible to other road users.
- (k) No competitor shall be permitted to start either a Type A or Type B event unless such competitor has affixed to the front of their machine a working front white light, either flashing or constant, that is illuminated and in a position that is clearly visible to other road users.

After finishing, riders should continue on to exit the A30 and to the headquarters and NOT stop at the FINISH.

Restriction of Parking at the Start and Finish

No event related vehicles, with the exception of the Timekeepers', Timekeepers' Assistants or Event Officials shall be parked in lay-bys at the Start or Finish points.

The rider shall not execute a U-Turn nor cross the central reservation at any point.

Okehampton Cycle Club Open 10 mile Time Trial Saturday 6th July 2024

No	Rider	Club	Cat	Vets Std	Machine	Result	Start
7	Anthony Green	Kernow Racing Team	V40	00:26:08	TT Bike		18:07
8	Nathan Jenkin	Tri Logic Cornwall	V40	00:26:08	TT Bike		18:08
9	lan Deakin	Mid Devon Cycling Club	V67	00:29:04	TT Bike		18:09
10	Blake Pond	Nopinz	V41	00:26:10	TT Bike		18:10
11	Lubos Obornik	Cranbrook Cycle Club	V57	00:27:31	TT Bike		18:11
12	Doug Parker	Sid Valley CC	V61	00:28:04	TT Bike		18:12
13	Ben Carthy	Plymouth Corinthian CC	V43	00:26:16	Road Bike		18:13
14	Maria Weymouth	Mid Devon Cycling Club	WV50	00:28:57	TT Bike		18:14
15	Nigel Polkinghorne	Duchy Velo	V50	00:26:46	TT Bike		18:15
16	Craig Harper	Holsworthy Peloton	V50	00:26:46	TT Bike		18:16
17	Michael Buckley	Tavistock Whs CC	М		TT Bike		18:17
18	Jonathan Hobbs	Okehampton CC	М		Road Bike		18:18
19	Piers Mahn	Mid Devon Cycling Club	MEsp		TT Bike		18:19
20	Tom Scorer	Royal Navy Cycling (RNC)	V43	00:26:16	TT Bike		18:20
21	Paul Walshe	Plymouth Corinthian CC	V48	00:26:36	TT Bike		18:21
22	Kevin Weymouth	Mid Devon Cycling Club	V53	00:27:03	TT Bike		18:22
23	Tony Symons	Tavistock Whs CC	V63	00:28:22	Road Bike		18:23
24	Simon Brown	CS Dynamo	V61	00:28:04	TT Bike		18:24
25	Liam Bard	GTR - Return To Life p/b Streamline	М		TT Bike		18:25
26	Lloyd Copp	Okehampton CC	М		TT Bike		18:26
27	Andy Hay	Tavistock Whs CC	V50	00:26:46	TT Bike		18:27
28	James Greenaway	Exeter Whs CC	М		TT Bike		18:28
29	Rex Facey	1st Chard Wheelers	V62	00:28:13	Road Bike		18:29
30	Steve Lampier	Kernow Racing Team	V40	00:26:08	TT Bike		18:30